Home COUNCIL Councillors




Council Roles and Responsibilities

The City of Brockville Council is the governing body of the municipal corporation and the custodian of its powers, both legislative and administrative. The Municipal Act provides that councils can only exercise the powers of the municipal corporation in the proper form, either by bylaw or resolution.

The councillors job is to work with other council members to set the overall direction of the municipality through their role as a policy maker. The policies that council sets are the guidelines for administration to follow as it does the job of running a municipality. A councillor will spend a lot of time while on council creating new policies and programs or reviewing the current ones to make sure they are working as they should.

Under the Municipal Government Act, councillors have the following duties:

  • To consider the welfare and interests of the municipality as a whole and, to bring to council?s attention anything that would promote the welfare or interests of the municipality
  • To participate generally in developing and evaluating the policies and programs of the municipality
  • To participate in council meetings and council committee meetings and meetings of other bodies to which they are appointed by the council
  • To obtain information about the operation or administration of the municipality from the chief administrative officer
  • To keep in confidence matters discussed in private at a council committee meeting until discussed at a meeting held in public
  • To perform any other duty or function imposed on councillors by this or any other enactment or by the council.

If you would like to contact one of the Members of Council, please find a list of Councillors below.

Councillors Staff

Matt Wren - Mayor
    Tel: 613-342-8772
    Email Matt Wren

Phil Deery - Councillor
    Tel: 343-402-8434
    Email Phil Deery

Jeff Earle - Councillor
    Tel: (613) 498-1429
    Email Jeff Earle

Jane Fullarton - Councillor
    Tel: (613) 345-3410
    Email Jane Fullarton

Katherine Hobbs - Councillor
    Tel: 613-325-8927
    Email Katherine Hobbs

Mike Kalivas - Councillor
    Tel: 613-342-9521
    Email Mike Kalivas

Nathalie Lavergne - Councillor
    Tel: 514-699-4102
    Email Nathalie Lavergne

Louise Severson - Councillor
    Tel: 613-213-3672
    Email Louise Severson

Cameron Wales - Councillor
    Tel: 613-803-0361
    Email Cameron Wales